Spuddy Tuesday….

I can’t name all my blog posts after non relevant Stones numbers, but I’m sure more dreadful puns will come.  

So, summer seems finally to have arrived, taken off it’s coat, and started a good long natter.  May trees are out in bloom and clouts have been cast all over the place.  I’m gardening in a skirt for starters.  

Quick inspection of the plot reveals that:

  • the potatoes appear to be thriving, so more earthing up (mounding up around the plants) has been done;
  • runner and French beans look good;
  • 2 of the weaker sweet corn seedlings have bought it;
  • using a nice felt tip on plastic labels isn’t practical.  I can’t read the labels on the rows of parsnips and carrots planted a week or so ago.  Fortunately I have pictures, so I can recreate (almost) the correct labelling for the root veg.  

As you can see I’ve splashed out and bought a growbag for the cherry tomatoes.  

These are in and looking good, hopefully 4 weeks in the mini greenhouse (a tiny plastic one!) will have got them off to a good start.  

The beans look pretty perky, a nice row, some pods already on the broad beans to replace the very early one I munched last week.   

The string support for asparagus is working, although the lines are not all strictly speaking parallel.  
I’ve fitted the proper tap to the  water butt; now I can store water rather than relying on help with a hose every now and then, and I’ve sourced a compost bin.  Not generated enough dead plant matter yet to warrant it, but it’s only a matter of time.  
And the brassica seedlings are coming up a treat.  Useful as I’ve finally laid bird protection over Brian (the blond hair now sadly obscured with green horticultural netting) as I’m going to pop them in on Monday.  I must also get the salad leaves in, no point considering them as an infill crop if I never get them into the ground.  

Enjoy the sun!

1 thought on “Spuddy Tuesday….”

  1. Firstly lovely to meet you Nancy, and secondly I comment using my main blog as I do not get replies in the notifications from my second blog, Dreamwalker’s Garden.
    Many thanks for your comment upon my own garden blog.
    And lovely to see what you are growing here.. 🙂 All is looking good.. 🙂
    And good yes a tunnel is very useful, to protect your brassica’s both if you have pigeons who love young leaves and will strip them clean, and later on from the eggs that form caterpillars.
    Happy Gardening.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

